IMG_1013

I love flicking through the pages of my bar books in search of a new cocktail that sounds unique and fun, and bonus points if it uses stuff that is (1) in my bar and (2) I am relatively unfamiliar with.  Last night I picked up some Sloe Gin for the bar, and after 10 seconds of flipping, a new possibility jumped out at me in the Charlie Chaplin.  Not only that, but it also had apricot brandy (which I only recently added) and lime juice (which our tree is producing right now).  It was destiny – but was it the good kind?

  • 1 ounce apricot brandy
  • 1 ounce sloe gin
  • 1 ounce fresh lime juice

Shake everything over ice, serve in a martini glass, optionally garnish with a lime wedge.

Dave’s Thoughts:

  • I did not expect it to be that sweet – it lingers in the mouth a while after each sip!
  • I am not sure what a sloe berry is, but it gives the drink a nice flavor – its almost citrus-y.
  • Definitely a one drink per sitting kind of beverage.  Not in a bad way, it’s like a decadent desert.

Tasting Notes:

  • Dave’s Rating: 7/10
  • Strength: 3/10
  • Sweetness: 9/10
  • Whatever I know about Charlie Chaplin before, I have added the knowledge that he had a sweet tooth.
