IMG_1001

Today was a rough day.  Sometimes you just need a drink when you come home, and tonight this is a homemade concoction.  Inspiration was the cold pressed apple juice that I found in the refrigerator, so here we go.  The wife decided that rum would be a good addition, and then for fun I asdded a splash of Apricot Brandy to give a little sweetness and flavor.  I did take a stab at a name, which was probably the hardest part of the process.  Feel free to mock relentlessly.

  • 3 ounces cold pressed apple juice
  • 1.5 ounces gold rum
  • 0.75 ounce apricot brandy

Shake over ice and serve in a ice filled rocks glass.

Dave’s Thoughts:

  • Wow, this isn’t bad.  Not saying this is the most creative combo, but it sure does blend together well.
  • It has a apple base, with a hint of sugar in the flavor from the rum and a sweet hit from the apricot.
  • Next time I will try half the apricot brandy.

Tasting Notes:

  • Dave’s Rating: 9/10 (I know, I’m biased)
  • Strength: 4/10
  • Sweetness: 8/10
  • A basic drink that classes up apple juice… and its all my own.
