IMG_9681

It’s New Year’s Eve Eve, and for the first time in many years the Holiday Bowl will happen without me in Qualcomm Stadium.  I miss overpriced bad beer.  I miss bad pretzels.  I miss end zone seats courtesy of Hornblower.  Instead, I get to sit in the comfort of my own home, warm, with good food and a good drink.

Tonight its a cocktail with port and gin – two flavors I did not think would go together.  Let’s see what happens when we add lemon juice to the mix…

  • 3 ounces gin
  • 1 ounce lemon juice
  • 0.5 ounce Grenadine
  • 0.75 ounce port

Shake the gin, juice and Grenadine over ice and pout into a chilled martini glass.  Slowly pour the port into the drink as served.

Dave’s Thoughts:

  • It just looks cool.  Its a deep red cocktail with a deeper red center from the port.
  • Its a sweet drink, but you can still taste the dry gin in the background, with its pleasing floral notes.
  • Hard to say what it tastes like, you can taste all of the ingredients, but it comes together to create an altogether different flavor.

Tasting Notes:

  • Dave’s Rating: 7/10
  • Strength: 7/10
  • Sweetness: 8/10
  • Just look at it – Dexter would be proud of this one.
