Costa del Sol

Tomorrow is the Saturday before Christmas, and that means like each year, I will be spending the morning at the mall.  Up early and arriving before 8, it’s incredible how quiet the mall can be, even this close to the holiday.  To prepare me for the potential of crowds though, it never hurts to enjoy a cocktail.  It may be 12 hours in advance, but I have the feeling that I may need it!  Too many presents to buy and too little time.

As the temperature has dropped again here in San Diego to, gosh, in the 60s, I thought I would try a drink with an exotic sound to remind me of warm summers… or Monday when it was damn near 80.  Enjoy…

  • 2 ounces gin
  • 1 ounce Cointreau
  • 1 ounce Apricot Brandy

Mix in shaker over ice and serve into a chilled martini glass.

Dave’s Thoughts:

  • Gorgeous pale orange color entices you to take a sip.
  • Surprisingly light flavor, subtle hint of orange and apricot.  Slightly dry finish from the gin.
  • The flavor quickly fades away, but not in a bad way.

Tasting Notes:

  • Dave’s Rating: 9/10
  • Strength: 7/10
  • Sweetness: 6/10
  • A pleasant surprise, this is an enjoyable traditional martini with a fruity flavor.
