WP_20130125_001

I’ve been drinking a lot of bourbon lately – my drink of the month appears to be a Manhattan, as every drink I order in a bar has a 50% chance of being a Makers Manhattan. It’s a lovely drink, but I needed some variety, so a flipped through my “World Bartender Guide” on the lookout for something that sounded very different. With that I stumbled on the Rum Shake.

At first read you might think that this was a desert cocktail with some dairy product thrown in for fun, but alas, the ingredients give way to a Caribbean themed drink with a little rum and pineapple juice. Then the curveball is Pernod. Let’s give her a whirl.

  • 1.5 ounces dark rum
  • 0.75 ounces Pernod
  • 2 ounces pineapple juice

Shake everything over ice, and strain into an ice filled rocks glass.

Dave’s Thoughts:

  • There’s definitely some interesting flavors in here.  The pineapple and the Pernod set each other off quite well.
  • In the tradition of Caribbean rum cocktails, you can’t really taste any liquor in here.
  • It drinks heavy, its frothy and rich like a shake – now I understand the name.

Tasting Notes:

  • Dave’s Rating: 7/10
  • Strength: 4/10
  • Sweetness: 7/10
  • According to plan, this is a different cocktail to try when you are craving a sweet alternative.
