What have I done when the wine drinker starts moving on to cocktails?  I am at a loss, but when searching for drinks made with ginger liqueur this evening, Kathryn piped in “that sounds good” so we made her one too.  Even after serving her a martini in a big boy glass, she still was ready to dive in.  This is a strange day indeed.  In honor of this momentous day, see Kathryn’s comments below in addition to my own!

  • 3 ounces Canton Ginger Liqueur
  • 2 ounces bourbon (Makers Mark)
  • 1 ounce fresh lemon juice

Shake over ice and serve into a chilled martini glass (heard that before?).

Dave’s Thoughts:

  • A very well balanced cocktail, the ginger and the lemon can both be tasted, but they soften each others flavors.
  • There is a sweetness in here, which is surprising given what’s in it… delicious.
  • The aftertaste is a little spicy – no complaints here.

Kathryn’s Thoughts:

  • This is a great cocktail.  Lately I’ve been thinking about switching it up and a drink like this could do it.
  • The spicy ginger flavor blends beautifully with the bourbon, I can’t stop sipping.
  • I doubt these were available during the real Gold Rush!

Tasting Notes (Dave – Kathryn):

  • Rating: 8/10 – 10/10
  • Strength: 4/10 – 6/10
  • Sweetness: 6/10 – 5/10
  • There’s bourbon in here? –  Now I can drink bourbon with my Hubby!
