One of the reasons that I started this blog back in December was that I wanted to tell you how drinks taste not just how to make them.  As I have said before – some drinks sound good and taste bad and others sound bad and taste good.  Tonight’s drink is a test of that theory.  Since starting davedrinks I have leant towards drinks that sound good, because let’s face it, I have to drink them.  The Black Sombrero however, does not sound good at all.  Let’s see how this goes.

  • 1 ounce tequila
  • 1 ounce vodka
  • 1 ounce Kahlua

Shake over ice, strain and serve into a chilled martini glass.

Dave’s Thoughts:

  • I didn’t expect that.  This drink is surprisingly well-balanced and good tasting.
  • The Kahlua is basically what you taste, with a hint of tequila in the background.
  • The taste is the coffee/cocoa flavor of Kahlua, but strong nonetheless.

Tastings Notes:

  • Dave’s Rating: 7/10
  • Strength: 8/10
  • Sweetness: 5/10
  • Surprises can be good – count the Black Sombrero among them.
