What a day.  What a week.  We closed 2 models today at work – 3 down and 3 to go on what is turning out to be a great investment.  On the flip side there is trouble in paradise on the sale of the adjacent land, this is definitely going to be my priority next week to right that ship!  Now it’s Friday, and there is nothing to be done except relax, mix a cocktail and enjoy a steak dinner with my lovely wife.  Can’t beat that.

In the spirit of the crazy week running around – tonight’s drink is the Derby, a follow-up to the Churchill Downs of last week.  I could also say that this was in honor of tomorrows Kentucky Derby, but I’d be lying – I didn’t even remember it was running.  A whiskey drink to enjoy as we haven’t done one of those in a while.  Don’t worry though, there is a bourbon alternative I’ll try next.

  • 1.5 ounces blended whiskey
  • 0.5 ounce of sweet vermouth
  • 0.5 ounce of Cointreau
  • 0.5 ounce of fresh lime juice
  • mint sprig for garnish

Shake vigorously over ice, strain into a chilled martini glass and garnish with the mint.  Enjoy.

Dave’s Thoughts:

  • Exacta box the Cointreau and the lime juice for a winner, they are clearly the dominate runners.
  • The whiskey comes in third to show – add that one to your Trifecta
  • The also rans were the vermouth and the mint sprig… better luck next time.

Tasting Notes:

  • Dave’s Rating: 7/10
  • Strength: 7/10
  • Sweetness: 5/10
  • I was expecting more whiskey, but overall, this one helped ease me into the weekend just fine.
