It’s a stormy Friday 13th here in San Diego tonight.  The cat isn’t a happy camper, and all he wants to do is hang out with me.  Sounds like a perfect night for a drink.

So why the Lemon Drop?  Simple enough, but last week I somehow ended up at the infamous Silver Fox in PB and more incredibly, I found myself drinking a Lemon Drop shot.  Damn it was awful.  With that as my background, I set out to make the ultimate version of this drink.  I present to you – the fancy pants davedrinks Lemon Drop.

  • 1.5 ounce lemon vodka
  • 1 ounce Grand Marnier
  • 1.5 ounce fresh lemon juice
  • 0.5 ounce orange juice

Combine in a shaker over ice, shake and serve in a chilled sugar rimmed martini glass.  Garnish with a lemon spiral.

Dave’s Thoughts:

  • The same basic flavor profile of a Lemon Drop, but this one really pops.  It’s the perfect blend of sweet and tart.
  • The Silver Fox version was flat, but here you can really taste the lemon, the orange and the Grand Marnier as you sip.
  • This may be based on a shot, but this is better enjoyed as a martini.

Tasting Notes:

  • Dave’s Rating: 7/10
  • Strength: 7/10
  • Sweetness: 6/10
  • Next time your buddy orders a Lemon Drop shot – make sure this is the one!
