After searching through the internet after work today I discovered that today is “Don’t Go To Work Unless It’s Fun Day”.  What the hell… how come nobody told me this before I went to the office today?  Maybe today was fun and I didn’t notice, maybe I am a masochist, or just maybe I must have had fun today.  Did you go to work?

Today’s drink is a variation on a classic cocktail the Tuaca Sidecar.  We already sampled the regula kind in February, and it scored a fantastic 9/10 – now let’s see how this one comes along.  I’ll let you in on a secret though – this is the fourth time I have made this drink in the past few days, so that might give you a hint to its rating.

  • 1.5 ounces brandy
  • 0.75 ounces Tuaca
  • 0.5 ounce orange juice
  • 0.5 ounce lime juice
  • lemon twist (optional)

Shake everything in a cocktail shaker over ice, and serve in a chilled cocktail glass, enjoy.

Dave’s Thoughts:

  • First all, just look at it.  It has all the good looks of someone throwing up in a martini glass.
  • Now taste it so we can get that thought out of your head.  This is a great blend of ingredients – the complexity of the brandy, the sweet of the Tuaca and the orange juice and the tart of the lime.
  • The picture does not do this one justice.

Tasting Notes:

  • Dave’s Rating: 9/10
  • Strength: 7/10
  • Sweetness: 5/10
  • Why stop at four – I’m sure I’ll be making five… and six… and, well, you get the idea.
