It’s been almost a month now since my birthday, and I realized today that one of my great friends Jon gave me a bottle of Spanish Brandy that I have yet to crack open.  While I have not been digging the brandy drinks made so far, it got me thinking that maybe its in the brandy I was using (E&J for the record).  After 5 minutes of looking through the trusty bar book, the following drink was revealed to me.

  • 1 ounce brandy (Gran Duque d’Alba)
  • 1 ounce light rum (Bacardi)
  • 1 ounce Cointreau
  • 1 ounce fresh lime juice (lemon juice is optional)
  • 1 dash of simple syrup

Shake everything over ice, and if feeling fancy garnish with a lemon twist.

Dave’s Thoughts:

  • First sip and this is a quality drink right here.  Surprisingly balanced and delicious – makes you want to have another sip – let’s…
  • Second sip and you start to get the depth of flavor, there is a nice sweetness up front and a tart finish, all the while with the undertone of brandy.
  • After that the sipping got a little rapid and I forgot to think about what I was drinking – it was too good!

Tasting Notes:

  • Dave’s Rating: 9/10
  • Strength: 7/10
  • Sweetness: 7/10
  • This was a real surprise – this is one of my new favorite drinks… thanks Jon!
