I pledge allegiance to the cocktail, and to the guy who crafted it with his hands, one distiller, under God, indivisible, with alcohol and revelry for all.

It’s an Americana cocktail tonight – the Betsy Ross.  As an Englishman, I actually didn’t know who the heck she was, but thanks to my trusty wife I learned that she was credited with creating the original American flag.  That probably was not a good day for the English.  Instead of dwelling on the breakup of the British Empire – let’s get on with the drinking.

  • 2 ounces of brandy
  • 1.5 ounces of ruby port
  • 0.5 teaspoon of Cointreau

Put the ingredients in a shaker with ice and stir away, strain and serve into a chilled martini glass.

Dave’s Thoughts:

  • I do love me some port, but not so much the brandy.
  • Tastes like a drink that our grandparents may enjoy.  No modern ingredients.  Its old school.
  • The brandy is the dominant flavor, with added sweetness from the port and the Cointreau.

Tasting Notes:

  • Dave’s Rating: 3/10
  • Strength: 5/10
  • Sweetness: 5/10
  • Step back in time and enjoy and old timey beverage.
