The more I flip through these bar books, the more I notice a theme.  Apparently mixing rum, lime juice and cranberry juice is a popular way to make a cocktail.  Some of these I have really enjoyed, others not so much.  This one is in the later category – the Old San Juan.  At least the picture is cool.

  • 1.5 ounces gold rum
  • 0.5 ounce cranberry juice
  • 1 ounce fresh lime juice
  • lime wedge to garnish

Shake everything but the lime wedge over ice, serve in a chilled martini glass, rim the glass with the lime wedge and drop it in.

Dave’s Thoughts:

  • This drink was way too tart for me.  Can’t decide if it’s just not a drink for me or there was something wrong with the lime.  Hmm.
  • It’s pink.  There is a well documented association with my obsession with pink drinks.
  • Cool name, okay drink.  Moving right along.

Tasting Notes:

  • Dave’s Rating: 4/10
  • Strength: 6/10
  • Sweetness: 5/10
  • There are better variations to this cocktail – go with the Bacardi cocktail.
