Needed a little sunshine in my life today to offset the rain that is falling down.  We might even have a thunderstorm tomorrow – the horror.  The recipe does not give me a lot of confidence with all that dry vermouth in there… we will see if the sun can shine through.

  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 2 dashes of creme de cassis
  • 1.25 ounces of gold rum
  • 1 ounce dry vermouth

Shake well over ice, strain and serve in a chilled martini glass.

Dave’s Thoughts:

  • I tried the first sip and it was not really that pleasant, too much vermouth flavor in the aftertaste.
  • Second sip and things were looking up I, I start to get the sense that the vermouth really helps the flavor.
  • No getting away from the fact there is a whole lime in here, the tartness stays with you after a couple of sips.

Tasting Notes:

  • Dave’s Rating: 6/10
  • Strength: 5/10
  • Sweetness: 5/10
  • Made my day a little brighter, a little.
