Valentines Day!  We had great plans – Kathryn had a court date, we both had too much work to do, and our romantic dinner at Outback Steakhouse was already behind us the night before.  So it was a night of homemade cooking and a cocktail and watching “The Fighter”.  Romance!

Tonight let’s kick off another of the classics – the Daiquiri.  There are about as many versions of this drink as will fill this blog, but this is the classic.  You can serve this up or over ice… and since I have those sexy new big ice cubes from my birthday – on ice it was.

  • 1.5 ounces light rum (Bacardi)
  • 0.75 ounce lime juice
  • 0.25 ounce simple syrup
  • Lime wedge for garnish

Shake everything over ice and strain into the container of your choice – martini glass up or rocks glass over ice.  Garnish with the lime wheel.

Dave’s Thoughts:

  • I will admit that a Daiquiri is not my favorite drink.  Too much lime flavor for me.
  • The first taste is dominated by the lime, but once you get used to it, this is a well balanced drink which speaks to its popularity.
  • While not strong, it tastes stronger than I would have expected.

Tastings Notes:

  • Dave’s Rating: 6/10 – just not my thing.
  • Strength: 7/10
  • Sweetness: 7/10
  • It was Ernest Hemmingway, F. Scott Fitzgerald and J.F.K.’s favorite drink, just not mine!
