With Kathryn away another day, I will raise another glass in honor of her temporary home – this time the Manhattan.  I have ordered them at bars many times, and I really enjoy them, but I had never made one for myself, so here goes.  I even have a ready supply of maraschino cherries to garnish with!

  • 3 ounces bourbon (Makers Mark)
  • 1.5 ounces of sweet vermouth
  • 3 dashes of Angostura bitters
  • maraschino cherry to garnish

Fill a shaker with ice, pour in the liquor, give it a stir and strain into a martini glass, garnish with a maraschino cherry.

Dave’s Thoughts:

  • First sip, and I think that this has always been true, it’s a little dry and not as good as I remember.  Maybe I got this recipe wrong?
  • Second sip and back comes the drink that I remember.  A delicious bourbony treat.
  • It’s a great combination of dry and sweet, There’s the sweet start as you sip and the dry finish as you swallow – yum!

Tasting Notes:

  • Dave’s Rating: 9/10
  • Strength: 8/10
  • Sweetness: 3/10
  • Almost got off to a rocky start, but perseverance is the key, make yourself one!  Thanks Kathryn for giving me the Manhattan inspiration.
