It’s a New York celebration today!  Not just because the New York Giants just won the Superbowl… not because my wife is living her bi-coastal life right now with a week in New York City… and not because on this day in 1985 “New York, New York” became the official anthem of New York City… but because I found a recipe for a “new” cocktail.  What more perfect a cocktail then than the New York Cocktail?  Time to see if I can truly say that “I heart [a] NY [cocktail]”!

  • 2 ounces Canadian whiskey (Crown Royal)
  • 0.75 ounce lime juice
  • 0.5 ounce simple syrup
  • 1 tsp grenadine
  • orange peel for garnish

Shake all the ingredients together over ice, strain and serve either up or over ice, your choice.  Garnish with an orange peel.

Dave’s Thoughts:

  • First taste, and this is a nice drink, very smooth.
  • A little on the sweet side, but not overly so.  It is pink too, so its got that.
  • This is a keeper and will be added to my regular bar list for friends – it tastes great and is made of common stuff that I generally always have in the house!

Tasting Notes:

  • Dave’s Rating: 8/10
  • Strength: 5/10
  • Sweetness:  7/10
  • I thought New York earnerd a reputation as being full of unfriendly people, ’cause if that is true, this drink does not belong.
