The parents came to visit today, and since we always end up having to make them a cup of coffee, I thought it best to try a drink with some coffee liqueur in their honor – Tia Maria.  Of course, when making the drink I misread the recipe, so my version has 3x as much Tia Maria and 3x as much triple sec.  Interestingly enough, what came out was quite pleasant.  So enjoy my screw-up.  I will update this with the correct recipe one of these days, but until then I am christening this “Dave’s Centenario”.  This drink is also in the tradition of a rum punch, with a lot of liquor mixing together with fruit flavors to mask its strength.  I like it.

  • 1.5 ounces gold rum (10 Cane)
  • 0.75 ounce of white rum (Bacardi)
  • 0.75 ounce Tia Maria (oops)
  • 0.75 ounce triple sec (oops again)
  • 1.5 ounces of fresh lime juice
  • Dash of grenadine
  • Garnish with a fresh mint sprig

Lots of ingredients here, throw them in a shaker, shake them up, serve in a collins glass filled with ice.

Dave’s Thoughts:

  • Drink has a sweet start, a tart middle and a finish of coffee.
  • Overall the drink is well-balanced, I think it would be a great summer drink.
  • Be careful, there’s 2.5 shots of liquor in here.

Tasting Notes:

  • Dave’s Rating: 7/10 (1 off for having coffee flavor!)
  • Strength: 8/10
  • Sweetness: 7/10
  • Some screw ups do work out for the best.
