Tonight I am drinking with the wife across three-time zones through the wonders of Skype.  In honor of the bad weather that Kathryn is experiencing, I decided to go with the Blizzard!

  • 3 ounces bourbon (Makers Mark)
  • 1 ounce of cranberry juice (unsweetened)
  • 0.5 ounce lemon juice
  • 1 ounce simple syrup
  • lemon slice

Mix the booze and the juice over ice into a shaker, shake, and serve in an ice filled rocks glass.

Dave’s Thoughts:

  • This is another great use for my favorite beverage.
  • I have to say, I am not sure where the name comes from exactly, it’s not blizzardly, however, I am sure the double shot of Makers will keep you warm!
  • The juices blend well together with the bourbon to make a nice cocktail.

Tasting Notes:

  • Dave’s Rating: 8/10 (this was a surprise, it didn’t sound good to me)
  • Strength: 8/10 (two shots of liquor in an easy-going beverage)
  • Sweetness: 5/10
  • This is definitely one to offer up at my next party – easy drinking, tastes great and sure to loosen you up!
