As the bar book says “the quintessential sour is the whiskey sour” – sounds like something that I have to try.  Even more incredible is the fact that this has my favorite liquor and I didn’t even know – bourbon.  Topping it off, this is apparently a drink from Kathryn’s youth – so this is what she drank before wine…

  • 2 ounces of bourbon (Makers Mark)
  • 0.75 ounce fresh lemon juice
  • 0.5 ounce simple syrup
  • lemon or orange slice
  • maraschino cherry (missing from my sample – I can’t stock everything.

This drink must be shaken over ice, can be served in a rocks glass over ice (as tried) or in a sour glass (whatever that is).

Dave’s Thoughts:

  • Drink has a nice flavor of lemon, and the bourbon is more of a pleasant finish.
  • Apparently Esquire called it a “fortified lemonade in concentrated form”, an apt description.
  • Seems like this would be a great drink on a summer day.

Tasting Notes:

  • Dave’s Rating: 8/10
  • Strength: 5/10
  • Sweetness: 6/10
  • I think I could grow to like this.

Variartion:

Try a “Stinger Sour” by adding a teaspoon of peppermint schnapps.  It is actually surprisingly good together, gives a little minted flavor to the lemon flavor.  Almost tastes like a cough drop!  I give it a 7/10.

