Was shopping at Ralph’s today and could not resist the “buy six bottles and get 30% promo” – time to stock up on some fun ingredients for the bar.  One thing that caught my eye was the bottle of Cointreau that I recently ran out of, but this one cam complete with a plastic shaker with recipes to some classic cocktails to make.  Armed with some cranberry juice in the refrigerator I decided to make “The Original Cosmopolitan” (according to the folks at Cointreau).

  • 1 ounce Cointreau
  • 0.75 ounce fresh lime juice
  • 1 ounce cranberry juice (unsweetened)
  • 1.5 ounces of vodka (Grey Goose)

Shake the ingredients in the fancy Cointreau shaker over ice!  Serve in the trusty chilled martini glass.

Dave’s Thoughts:

  • I always thought that a cosmo was almost the color of cranberry juice when made, not this one – its pink!
  • The cranberry flavor really falls into the background, more so than I remember when drinking a cosmo.
  • The flavor of the lime juice really comes through.
  • Overall a very pleasing drink, but I have to admit, for some reason I am underwhelmed.  It’s not bad, but I wouldn’t offer it in my bar.

Tasting Notes:

  • Dave’s Rating: 5/10
  • Strength: 6/10
  • Sweetness: 8/10
  • Not sure why this drink became such a hit, I am guessing this was not the recipe that did it.
