Sometimes I don’t understand the name of cocktails, this is one of those times.  All I can come up with is the “Jeanie” rhymes with “martini”.  I’ll try to put this behind me as I sample this cocktail.  Kathryn was flipping through the bar book and this one caught her eye, so let’s give it a whirl.  I have to admit that I am not sure if this goes with the football gathering we are hosting.  Go niners!

  • 1.5 ounces Malibu Rum
  • 1 ounce lemon Vodka (Kettle One)
  • 1 ounce Cointreau
  • 1.5 ounces cranberry juice (unsweetened)
  • 1/2 ounce fresh lime juice
  • lemon twist

Nothing different here, mix up in a shaker over ice, shake it up, through it in a chilled martini glass.

Dave’s Thoughts:

  • I should confess that I don’t like coconut.  This drink smells of coconut and tastes a little of coconut, so there’s that.
  • That said, this is a really nice drink, the flavors are very nice and its very satisfying.
  • Not the manliest color, but I think this is a great drink.

Tasting Notes:

  • Dave’s Rating: 9/10
  • Strength: 6/10 (with the “it’s a martini disclaimer”)
  • Sweetness: 7/10
  • If you don’t like coconut and you want coconut.
