What the hell happened you may be asking.  You started this blog, you whetted our appetites and then you go dark for a week.  Not cool.  Well I agree with you.  Problem was that my inspiration to drink, my wife, was out-of-town.  It’s an odd thing, when she’s not at home, I am not driven to drink with the same virosity.  Strange don’t you think?

Anyway, on to today’s cocktail – the Canadian Cocktail.  This one is in honor of my company’s origin – the great white north.  I tried this before my silence, and wasn’t that impressed, but on a second drink, it’s actually pretty good.

  • 2 ounces Canadian whisky (Crown Royale)
  • 0.5 ounce triple sec
  • 1 teaspoon simple syrup
  • 2 dashes of Angostura bitters

Shake vigorously over ice, serve in rocks glass over ice.

Dave’s Thoughts:

  • The drink has a pleasing orange flavor that blends well with the Crown.
  • Definitely needs a minute to settle, try to hold off on that initial sip and let the ice melt a little, definitely don’t mix this drink in a glass and stir – it needs to be shaken over ice.
  • Very pleasing cocktail, especially on the second look.

Tasting Notes:

  • Dave’s Rating: 7/10
  • Strength: 8/10
  • Sweetness: 5/10
  • My boss’ countrymen should be proud of their cocktail.
