My standby beverage is a Makers and Coke.  For me it is the perfect combination of the sweetness of coke with the flavor of bourbon, and frankly, it is delicious.  The other great thing is that anyone can make it.  Rocks glass, ice, Makers Mark and fill with coke – how hard is that?  You would be surprised.

I cannot tell you how many times I have been asked those terrible words – “Is Pepsi ok?” – did I order a Makers and Pepsi?  No, Pepsi is not okay.  Sometimes they don’t even ask, they just pour away oblivious to the crime they are in the process of committing.  Does anyone out there really believe there isn’t a difference?

If I ordered a Makers and Cola, then I just made my own bed, but Coke – that is a trademarked word that can only mean the delicious beverage in the red can.  Good liquor requires good mixers.  Many a fine cocktail has been ruined by bad ingredients.  Let’s face it, when was the last time you requested “your worst vodka” for your vodka tonic?

So bar owners/party throwers – do us all a favor and get with the program – stock Coke not Pepsi – your customers/guests will appreciate it.  At least I will.

Just wait until I tell you about Mexican Coke!

